## CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO IMMIGRANT RIGHTS COMMISSION



February 13, 2020

## San Francisco Immigrant Rights Commission Statement on Expansion of Travel Ban

On January 31, 2020, three years after signing his original and highly controversial travel ban, President Trump issued a proclamation to expand the ban to six new countries: Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgystan, Nigeria, Tanzania, and Sudan, effective February 21, 2020. While the existing travel ban targets Muslimmajority countries, the expanded ban targets mostly African countries. Like the existing travel ban, the expansion reflects the administration's bigotry and sends a message to all immigrants that they are not welcome here.

In 2017, the San Francisco Immigrant Rights Commission held a special hearing on the impacts of the travel ban, documenting testimony from dozens of community members that demonstrated the extent of the pain and fear surrounding immigrant communities.

When the U.S. Supreme Court upheld the travel ban in 2018, the San Francisco Immigrant Rights Commission joined with the Human Rights Commission and the Office of Civic Engagement & Immigrant Affairs to issue a joint <u>statement</u>, calling the ban "an egregious violation of religious and human rights."

The Immigrant Rights Commission stands with our immigrant communities to denounce the current travel ban and its expansion. These and other racist, discriminatory federal actions are wrong and bad policy that will harm, not help, America.

Immigrant families belong together. We urge Congress to strengthen nondiscrimination protections in the <u>Immigration and Nationality Act</u> and adopt humane and sensible solutions to immigration reform.