User menu

About Us



Department Staff

Emily M. Murase, PhD, Executive Director

Carol Sacco, Associate Director

Minouche Kandel, Esq., Director of Women's Policy

Stephanie Nguyen, Fiscal & Policy Analyst

Iris Wong, Executive Management Assistant & Gender Equality Challenge Coordinator

Department Interns & Fellows

Lynn Murphy, Program Fellow

Allison Ipsen, Public Policy Fellow

Elizabeth Newman, Public Policy Fellow

Sarah-Maya De Guzman, PAAWBAC Fellow

Contact Information

Address: 25 Van Ness Avenue, Suite 240, San Francisco, CA 94102-6061

Phone: (415) 252-2570

TDD: (415) 252-2550

Fax: (415) 252-2575

Department on the Status of Women Email:

Commission on the Status of Women Email:

Website: Department on the Status of Women

Office Hours: Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 12 p.m and 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

You can also sign on to our email list for notices about meetings, events and information.

Statement of Incompatible Activities

For questions about the meeting please contact Commission Secretary at 415-252-2570. The ringing of and use of cell phones, pagers and similar sound-producing electronic devices are prohibited at this meeting. Please be advised that the Chair may order the removal from the meeting room of any person(s) responsible for the ringing or use of a cell phone, pager, or other similar sound-producing electronic devices.




Government’s duty is to serve the public, reaching its decisions in full view of the public. Commissions, boards, councils, and other agencies of the City and County exist to conduct the people’s business. This ordinance assures that deliberations are conducted before the people and that City operations are open to the people’s review. For information on your rights under the Sunshine Ordinance (Chapters 67 of the San Francisco Administrative Code) or to report a violation of the ordinance, please contact: Sunshine Ordinance Task Force Administrator


City Hall – Room 244 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place

San Francisco, CA 94102-4683

415-554-7724 (Office); 415-554-7854 (Fax)



Copies of the Sunshine Ordinance can be obtained from the Clerk of the Sunshine Task Force, the San Francisco Public Library and on the City’s website at Copies of explanatory documents are available to the public online at or, upon request to the Commission Secretary, at the above address or phone number.




Per the Language Access Ordinance (Chapter 91 of the San Francisco Administrative Code), Chinese, Spanish and or Filipino (Tagalog) interpreters will be available upon requests. Meeting Minutes may be translated, if requested, after they have been adopted by the Commission.  Assistance in additional languages may be honored whenever possible. To request assistance with these services please contact the Commission Secretary at 415-252-2570, or at least 48 hours in advance of the hearing.  Late requests will be honored if possible.




Commission meetings are held in Room 408 at City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place in San Francisco. City Hall is accessible to persons using wheelchairs and other assistive mobility devices. Ramps are available at the Grove, Van Ness and McAllister entrances.


Assistive listening devices, real time captioning, American Sign Language interpreters, readers, large print agendas or other accommodations are available upon request. Please make your requests for accommodations to the Commission Secretary at (415) 252-2570, or Requesting accommodations at least 72 hours prior to the meeting will help to ensure availability.




Individuals and entities that influence or attempt to influence local legislative or administrative action may be required by the San Francisco Lobbyist Ordinance [SF Campaign & Governmental Conduct Code 2.100] to register and report lobbying activity. For more information about the Lobbyist Ordinance, please contact the San Francisco Ethics Commission at 25 Van Ness Avenue, Suite 220, San Francisco, CA 94102, (415) 252-3100, FAX (415) 252-3112, website:

Back to Top