About Us

Shelter Monitoring Committee Members

The Shelter Monitoring Committee has thirteen (13) members.  The Mayor appoints three (3) of the Committee members, the Board of Supervisors appoints six (6) of the Committee members, and the Local Homeless Coordinating Board appoints four (4) of the Committee members.  The majority of seats are designated for homeless or formerly homeless individuals.  Member terms are for two years.  The most current term ends on November 23, 2016.

Committee Members:

Kendra Amick, Board of Supervisors, Seat 4

Terry Bohrer, Secretary, Local Homeless Coordinating Board, Seat 1

Patrina Hall, Board of Supervisors, Seat 1

Darcel Jackson, Board of Supervisors, Seat 2

Gary McMcoy, Mayor's Office, Seat 1

Charles Morimoto, Mayor's Office, Seat 3

Mwangi Mukami, Chair, Local Homeless Coordinating Board, Seat 3

Anakh Sul Rama, Board of Supervisors, Seat 6

Matthew Steen, Vice Chair, Local Homeless Coordinating Board, Seat 4

Cindy Ward, Mayor's Office, Seat 2



Requirements of Appointees

Committee Members are required to attend a monthly meeting held the third Wednesday of every month at 10:00 am and to conduct a minimum of two site visits per month, which are usually conducted after 5:00 pm. Members should allot a minimum of 20 hours per month for site visits and monthly meetings. The term for each seat is two years. The current term is for November 23, 2014 to November 23, 2016. Bilingual applicants are strongly encouraged to apply.

There are currently three vacancies on the Committee:

Appointed by the Board of Supervisors:

Vacant seat 3, must have experience providing direct services to the homeless through a commnity setting.

Vacant seat 5, must be selected from a list of candidates that are nominated by nonprofit agencies that provide advocacy or organizing services to homeless people and be homeless or formerly homeless.

Appointed by the Local Homeless Coordinating Board:

Vacant seat 2, must have experience providing direct service to the homeless through a community setting and be formerly homeless.

Interested parties should contact Committee staff person Jeff Simbe at 415-255-3647 or email jeff.simbe@sfdph.org.