SUNSHINE ORDINANCE TASK FORCE



City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244 San Francisco 94102-4689 Tel. No. (415) 554-7724 Fax No. (415) 554-7854 TDD/TTY No. (415) 554-5227

August 31, 2012

Dear Members of the Public,

We wanted to make sure you were kept in the loop as to the cancellation of our September meeting. As of today, we are still in violation of the Sunshine Ordinance, Section 67.30. Therefore, I cancelled the September 5, 2012 meeting. The Board of Supervisors has been on recess for the month of August. The Rules Committee meets on September 6, 2012 and will address our issues from the letter I sent on behalf of the Task Force on July 16, 2012. Applicants recommended by the Rules Committee, will be forwarded to the Board for approval on September 18, 2012.

I will keep you abreast of any developments as they occur.

Respectfully Yours,

Kitt Grant, Chair

Sunshine Ordinance Task Force

SUNSHINE ORDINANCE TASK FORCE



City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244 San Francisco 94102-4689 Tel. No. (415) 554-7724 Fax No. (415) 554-7854 TDD/TTY No. (415) 554-5227

July 16, 2012

Supervisor Jane Kim City and County of San Francisco San Francisco City Hall 1 Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244 San Francisco, CA 94102

Dear Supervisor Kim,

I am writing on behalf of the Sunshine Ordinance Task Force and asking for your help in order to enable us to do the work that you appointed us to do.

The Task Force has met twice (June 4 and July 11) since the newest members were appointed, but we have been severely limited in what we could accomplish because we have been advised by the City Attorney that we are in violation of section 67.30 of the Ordinance.

That section provides:

"At all times the Task Force shall include at least one member who shall be a member of the public who is physically handicapped and who has demonstrated interest in citizen access and participation in local government."

As you know, there is no physically handicapped member currently on the Task Force and that has impacted us being able to move forward. Because of this we have adjourned the last two meetings while constituted in violation of the ordinance.

Member West has recently resigned his seat and submitted his letter of resignation to you. We are asking that you fill this seat with a person from the physically handicapped community as soon as possible so that we can move forward.

It is frustrating to know that we are here to protect the public's interest in open government but not be able to accomplish that goal. The public's confidence in our efforts on their behalf are sorely diminished when they attend the meeting and don't see a member from the physically disabled community sitting alongside the other Task Force members as required by the ordinance.

We have not been able to hear the complaints that have been filed, and with the continued backlog of cases, it is in essence a delay of justice. In addition the continued delay on deciding complaints puts us in violation of the 45 day rule for hearing cases as set out in section 67.21 of the ordinance.

While we have a responsibility and are extremely anxious to hear the complaints that the public has filed, we think the first and more important step at this time is to have a Task Force whose membership meets all the requirements of the Ordinance.

There are also three holdover appointees on the Task Force who feel as if they are in limbo. If you could address these appointments as well, it would be most appreciated.

Thank you for your attention in this matter and dealing with these issues as soon as possible. Each of us takes our appointment very seriously and it is vital to the future success of the Task Force that these issues be dealt with in order for us to move forward.

Respectfully Yours,

Kitt Grant, Chair

Sunshine Ordinance Task Force

Cc: Board President David Chiu, District 3

Supervisor Eric Mar, District 1

Hill Grant

Supervisor Mark Farrell, District 2

Supervisor Carmen Chiu, District 4

Supervisor Christina Olague, District 5

Supervisor Sean Elsbernd, District 7

Supervisor Scott Wiener, District 8

Supervisor David Campos, District 9

Supervisor Malia Cohen, District 10

Supervisor John Avalos, District 11

Honorable Edwin Lee, Mayor

Jerry Threet, Deputy City Attorney