City and County of San FranciscoSan Francisco Arts Commission

Wednesday, August 21, 2002

3:00 p.m.

25 Van Ness Avenue, Suite 70


Explanatory documents are available for public inspection and copying at the Arts Commission office, 25 Van Ness Ave, Ste 240, San Francisco CA 94102 during regular business hours. Tel: 415-252-2594.

Public comment in regard to specific items will be taken before or during consideration of the item.

The ringing of and use of cell phones, pagers and similar sound-producing electronic devices are prohibited at this meeting. Please be advised that the Chair may order the removal from the meeting room of any person(s) responsible for the ringing or use of a cell phone, pager, or other similar sound producing electronic devices.

  1. Consent
    1. Motion to approve sidewalk design and design of two sculptural bollards by Topher Delaney for Club Quarter San Francisco at 425 Battery Street.

  2. Collections
    Debra Lehane
    Temporary Installation of Sculpture in Union Square

    Motion: Motion to approve the temporary installation of two sculptures titled Link and Three Wishes by Bruce Chaban from Sept. 6 - Sept 30th in Union Square as part of the Red Umbrella series.

    Debra Lehane
    Collections Update

  3. Recreation and Park Department Bond Projects
    Nina Dunbar and Tonia Macneil
    Staff Report on Artist Selection Process

    Motion: Motion to approve the selection panel's recommendation of the following artists (to be named at the meeting) to serve for one year term on the Recreation and Park Department Bond Projects Pre-Qualified Artist Pool. Approved artists will be eligible for consideration by community panels for upcoming Art Enrichment commissions associated with new and renovated Recreation and Park Department facilities, including, but not limited to Helen Wills Playground, Rochambeau Playground, West Portal Recreation Center, Eureka Valley Recreation Center, Holly Park and Hoff Street Playground.

  4. Airport
    Susan Pontious
    Project Update

    Motion: Motion to approve the following individuals to be added to the juror pool for the selection of sculpture for Boarding Area C: Madelaine Grynsztein (Curator for painting and sculpture, SFMOMA), Renny Pritikin (Chief Curator, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts), Hitoshi Sasaki (Artist and former Curator for Airport Museums Program at SFO, Kathy Holland (Independent Curator, Co-author of Airport Collection assessment), and Lydia Mathews (Art Historian, California College of Arts and Crafts).

  5. Laguna Honda Hospital
    Susan Pontious
    Project Update

    Motion: Motion to approve the following individuals to be added to the juror pool for Laguna Honda Hospital projects (courtyard sculpture and pool tile design): Michele Rowe-Shields (Visual Arts Director, Montalvo), Lewis deSoto (Artist), Rene Yung (Artist), Don Douglas (Regional Director of Art Program, General Services Administration), Jud Fine (Artist), Barbara McCarren (Artist), Carrie Lederer (Curator of Exhibitions and Program, Bedford Gallery, Dean Lesher Regional Center for the Arts, Walnut Creek), Rene de Guzman (Curator Yerba Beuna Center for the Arts), and Winifred Day (Independent Curator).

    Appointment of Visual Arts Committee Representative for Laguna Honda Hospital Panel

  6. Moscone Center Expansion Project
    Anna Kvinsland for Jill Manton
    Project Update

  7. New Business

  8. Old Business

  9. Adjournment



Copyright © 1999-2004 City & County of San Francisco. All rights reserved.