VAC Explanatory Document: Dec. 20, 2017

Treasure Island Phase One Projects

There were 495 applicants from around the world for this project, many of whom do not usually participate in competitions. The selection panel was comprised of Commissioners, JD Beltran, Janet Bishop from SFMOMA, Mika Yoshitake, a Curator from the Smithsonian's Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Chris Meany, from Wilson Meany, representing the Treasure Island developer and Fei Tsen, President of the Treasure Island Development Authority. The panel viewed the work and qualifications of 37 candidates, ultimately selecting the following roster of three artists for each of the three sites, which will be presented to the Visual Arts Committee for review and comment in accordance with the Treasure Island Arts Master Plan. Following the VAC review, the finalists will be voted upon by the Treasure Island Art Steering Committee and the approval will be official once voted upon by the Treasure Island Development Authority at their January 2018 meeting. Each artist or her/his representative will be asked to attend an on-site orientation and will be paid an honorarium to develop a preliminary proposal for the site. The MOU with the artist for their proposal and travel will be paid through the Arts Commission. Accordingly, the following motions will allow the Arts Commission to make these payments to the artist.

Building 1 Plaza: Ai Wei Wei, Chakaia Booker, Pae White with Ned Kahn as an alternate

Waterfront Plaza: Ai Wei Wei, Antony Gormley, Jorge Pardo

Yerba Buena Hilltop Park: Hiroshi Sugimoto, Chakaia Booker, Andy Goldsworthy

- Motion to authorize the Director of Cultural Affairs to pay each of the following artists an honorarium of up to \$5,000 for the development of a proposal for Building 1 Plaza for the Treasure Island Art Program: Ai Wei Wei, Pae White, Chakaia Booker and Ned Kahn (alternate.)
- 2. Motion to pay an honorarium of up to \$5,000 to Ai Wei Wei, Antony Gormley and Jorge Pardo for the development of a proposal for Waterfront Plaza for the Treasure Island Art Program.
- 3. Motion to pay an honorarium of up to \$5,000 to Hiroshi Sugimoto, Chakaia Booker and Andy Goldsworthy for the development of a proposal for Yerba Buena Hilltop Park for the Treasure Island Art Program.

BUILDING ONE PLAZA FINALISTS:

1) Ai Wei Wei



2) Chakaia Booker





3) Pae White



4) Ned Kahn (Alternate)



WATERFRONT PLAZA FINALISTS:

1) Ai Wei Wei



2) Antony Gormley



3) Jorge Pardo



YERBA BUENA HILLTOP PARK FINALISTS:

1) Hiroshi Sugimoto



2) Chakaia Booker





3) Andy Goldsworthy

