

SEP HEADWORKS PUBLIC ART SELECTION PANEL – MEETING 2 SUMMARY

MEETING DATE

November 9, 2016

VOTING SELECTION PANELISTS

Helene Fried, Independent Arts Professional
Joi Jackson-Morgan, Executive Director, 3rd Street Youth Clinic
Dorka Keehn, Arts Commissioner
LaVaughn King, SECF Commissioner
Lizzetta LeFalle-Collins, Independent Arts Professional
Erika Uribe, Senior Associate, Landscape Architect, AECOM (share vote with Jean von Bargen Root)
Jean von Bargen Root, Architect, MWA Architects (share vote with Erika Uribe)
Nate Watson, Executive Director, Public Glass
Renee Willette, Director of Strategic Initiatives, SFPUC

PROCESS

The following artists presented an overview of their practice and preliminary ideas/approaches for the SEP Headworks Public Art Project:

Mildred Howard Christian Moeller Nori Sato Ron Moultrie Saunders Catherine Widgery

The panelist then ranked the artists 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 (1 = highest rank) accordingly.

RESULTS OF VOTING TALLY

Nori Sato	14
Christian Moeller	20
Mildred Howard	27
Ron Moultrie Saunders	27
Catherine Widgery	32

ARTS COMMISSION APPROVAL

Motion: Motion to approve the selected artist Nori Sato for the Southeast Wastewater Treatment Plant Headworks Building as recommended by the selection panel.

Motion: Motion to authorize the Director of Cultural Affairs to enter into contract with Nori Sato for design and construction documents of an artwork for the Southeast Wastewater Treatment Plant Headworks Building in an amount not to exceed \$90,000.