ELECTIONS COMMISSION *City and County of San Francisco*

Christopher Jerdonek, President Jill Rowe, Vice President Charles Jung Dominic Paris Rosabella Safont Winnie Yu



John Arntz, Director of Elections

Nadya Hewitt, Secretary

SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

San Francisco Elections Commission Thursday, April 23, 2015 3:30 p.m. City Hall, Room 34 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, California 94102

1. Call to Order & Roll Call

President Jerdonek called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m and welcomed new Commission Secretary Nadya Hewitt. Present: Commissioners Jerdonek, Jung, Rowe, and Safont. Excused late: Commissioner Paris arrived at 4:03 p.m. Excused absence: Commissioner Yu. The seat appointed by the City Attorney is currently vacant. Also present: Commission Secretary Nadya Hewitt and Deputy City Attorney Joshua White.

2. Public Employee Performance Evaluation for Director of Elections John Arntz No public comment.

Commissioner Jung commented that the Director self-evaluation form, which is Exhibit A of the Commission's adopted "Guidelines for Evaluation of Director of Elections," does not have a section for areas for improvement. Commissioner Rowe said that the Commission had voted on the form at its February meeting but suggested that the Commission could revise it at a future meeting.

Moved by Commissioner Jung and seconded by Commissioner Safont to go into closed session. No discussion or public comment. The vote was UNANIMOUS to approve.

The Commission went into closed session at 3:35 p.m. Pursuant to Sunshine Ordinance section 67.16, the names and titles of the additional individuals attending some portion of the closed session were Deborah Brown, Manager of Voter Services Division; Yelena Kravtsova, Manager of Poll Worker unit of the Election Day Support Division; and Cuong Quach, Manager of Ballot Distribution Division.

The Commission resumed open session at 5:18 p.m.

Moved by Commissioner Rowe and seconded by Commissioner Safont to disclose no portion of the closed session discussion. No discussion or public comment. The vote was UNANIMOUS to approve.

Adjourned at 5:18 p.m.