SUNSHINE ORDINANCE TASK FORCE



City Hall 1 Dr Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244 San Francisco, CA 94102-4689 Tel. No. (415) 554-7724 Fax No. (415) 554-7854 TTD/TTY No. (415) 554-5227

## ORDER OF DETERMINATION

DATE DECISION ISSUED: 2/5/2025

CASE TITLE – Justin Barker against San Francisco Zoo

File No. 25003: Complaint filed by Justin Barker against San Francisco Zoo for allegedly violating Administrative Code (Sunshine Ordinance), Section(s) 67.21, by failing to respond to a public records request in a timely and/or complete manner.

## HEARING AND ACTION ON THE COMPLAINT

On 1/21/2025, the Complaint Committee, acting in its capacity to hear petitions/complaints, heard the matter.

Action: Moved by Member Stein, seconded by Chair Schmidt, that the requested records are public, and refer the matter to the full Task Force for hearing to consider a violation of Administrative Code (Sunshine Ordinance) Section 67.21, by failing to respond to a public records request in a timely and/or complete manner, and additional consideration of whether the Task Force has jurisdiction.

The motion **PASSED** by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 – Stein, Schmidt Noes: 0 – None Absent: 1 – Sugarman On 2/5/2025, the Sunshine Ordinance Task Force held a hearing to review the recommendation from the Committee and/or review the merits of the petition/complaint.

Action: Moved by Vice-Chair Stein, seconded by Member Pilpel, that the San Francisco Zoological Society is subject to the Sunshine Ordinance under the SF Zoo Lease and Management Agreement of 1993 (Section E of the Recitals section and Section 16.2), to find a violation of Administrative Code (Sunshine Ordinance) Section 67.21(b) for not responding to a public records request in complete or timely manner and Section 67.21(e) for not sending an authorized representative to the Task Force hearing, turn over the requested records within 5 calendar days, and work with the Education, Outreach and Training Committee to achieve compliance with the Sunshine Ordinance.

The motion **PASSED** by the following vote:

Ayes: 9 - Stein, Pilpel, LaHood, Sugarman, Kuman, Anderson, Hyland, Wolfe, Yankee Noes: 1 – Schmidt Absent: 0

This Order of Determination was approved by the Sunshine Ordinance Task Force on: 3/5/2025