Planning Commission - February 9, 2017 - Agenda

Meeting Date: 
February 9, 2017 - 10:00am









Notice of Joint Meeting




Commission Chambers - Room 400

City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place

San Francisco, CA 94102-4689



Thursday, February 9, 2017

10:00 a.m.

Special Meeting


PLANNING COMMISSION:                  President:                            Rich Hillis

                                                                                     Vice-President:                 Dennis Richards

       Commissioners                 Rodney Fong; Christine Johnson; Joel Koppel; Myrna Melgar;

                                                         Kathrin Moore


HEALTH COMMISSION:                             President:                            Edward A. Chow M.D.

                                                                                     Commissioners:                Cecilia Chung; Judith Karshmer, Ph.D, PMHCNS-BC; James Loyce, Jr, M.S.; David R. Pating, M.D.; David J. Sanchez, Jr., Ph.D.


Hearing Materials are available at:


Planning Department, 1650 Mission Street, 4th Floor, Suite 400

Planning Information Center, 1660 Mission Street, 1st Floor

Voice recorded Agenda only: (415) 558-6422

Commission Hearing Broadcasts:

Live stream:

Live, Thursdays at 12:00 p.m., Cable Channel 78

Re-broadcast, Fridays at 8:00 p.m., Cable Channel 26

Disability and language accommodations available upon request to: or (415) 558-6309 at least 48 hours in advance.

Know Your Rights Under the Sunshine Ordinance

Government's duty is to serve the public, reaching its decisions in full view of the public.  Commissions, boards, councils and other agencies of the City and County exist to conduct the people's business.  This ordinance assures that deliberations are conducted before the people and that City operations are open to the people's review.


Members of the public are not required to provide personal identifying information when they communicate with the Commission or the Department. All written or oral communications, including submitted personal contact information, may be made available to the public for inspection and copying upon request and may appear on the Department’s website or in other public documents.


For more information on your rights under the Sunshine Ordinance (Chapter 67 of the San Francisco Administrative Code) or to report a violation of the ordinance, contact the Sunshine Ordinance Task Force at City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 409; phone (415) 554-7724; fax (415) 554-7854; or e-mail at


Copies of the Sunshine Ordinance can be obtained from the Clerk of the Sunshine Task Force, the San Francisco Library and on the City’s website at


San Francisco Lobbyist Ordinance

Individuals and entities that influence or attempt to influence local legislative or administrative action may be required by the San Francisco Lobbyist Ordinance [SF Campaign and Governmental Conduct Code Section 21.00-2.160] to register and report lobbying activity.  For more information about the Lobbyist Ordinance, please contact the San Francisco Ethics Commission at 25 Van Ness Avenue, Suite 220, San Francisco, CA 94102; phone (415) 252-3100; fax (415) 252-3112; and online


Accessible Meeting Information

Commission hearings are held in Room 400 at City Hall, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place in San Francisco. City Hall is open to the public Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and is accessible to persons using wheelchairs and other assistive mobility devices. Ramps are available at the Grove, Van Ness and McAllister entrances. A wheelchair lift is available at the Polk Street entrance.


Transit: The nearest accessible BART station is Civic Center. Accessible MUNI Metro lines are the F, J, K, L, M, N, T (exit at Civic Center or Van Ness stations). MUNI bus routes also serving the area are the 5, 6, 9, 19, 21, 47, 49, 71, and 71L. For more information regarding MUNI accessible services, call (415) 701-4485 or call 311.


Parking: Accessible parking is available at the Civic Center Underground Parking Garage (McAllister and Polk), and at the Performing Arts Parking Garage (Grove and Franklin). Accessible curbside parking spaces are located all around City Hall.


Disability Accommodations: To request assistive listening devices, real time captioning, sign language interpreters, readers, large print agendas or other accommodations, please contact the Commission Secretary at (415) 558-6309, or at least 72 hours in advance of the hearing to help ensure availability.


Language Assistance: To request an interpreter for a specific item during the hearing, please contact the Commission Secretary at (415) 558-6309, or at least 48 hours in advance of the hearing.


Allergies: In order to assist the City in accommodating persons with severe allergies, environmental illness, multiple chemical sensitivity or related disabilities, please refrain from wearing scented products (e.g. perfume and scented lotions) to Commission hearings.



Agenda para la Comisión de Planificación. Si desea asistir a la audiencia, y quisiera obtener información en Español o solicitar un aparato para asistencia auditiva, llame al 415-558-6309. Por favor llame por lo menos 48 horas de anticipación a la audiencia.






Adyenda ng Komisyon ng Pagpaplano. Para sa tulong sa lengguwahe o para humiling ng Pantulong na Kagamitan para sa Pagdinig (headset), mangyari lamang na tumawag sa 415-558-6309. Mangyaring tumawag nang maaga  (kung maaari ay 48 oras) bago sa araw ng Pagdinig.



Повестка дня Комиссии по планированию. За помощью переводчика или за вспомогательным слуховым устройством на время слушаний обращайтесь по номеру 415-558-6309. Запросы должны делаться минимум за 48 часов до начала слушания.


ROLL CALL:         




COMMISSION:          President:                       Rich Hillis                                                                         Vice-President:              Dennis Richards

Commissioners:            Rodney Fong; Christine Johnson; Joel Koppel; Myrna Melgar;

                                         Kathrin Moore



COMMISSION:             President:                       Edward A. Chow M.D.

                                         Commissioners:            Cecilia Chung; Judith Karshmer,  Ph.D, PMHCNS-BC; James Loyce Jr, M.S.; David R. Pating, M.D.; David J. Sanchez, Jr., Ph.D.


A.               SPECIAL CALENDAR


2012.0403W                                                                                        (E. PURL: (415) 575-9028)

CALIFORNIA PACIFIC MEDICAL CENTER (CPMC) ANNUAL COMPLIANCE STATEMENT - Joint Informational Hearing of the Planning and Health Commissions to review and comment on CPMC’s Annual Compliance Statement for 2015 and the City’s Report on CPMC’s Compliance Statement, in accordance with Section 8.2 of their Development Agreement with the City and County of San Francisco (Planning Department Case No. 2012.0403W; Ordinance No. 138-13). The 2015 Compliance Statement and the City Report are available for viewing on the Planning Department’s website ( 

Preliminary Recommendation: None – Informational