Youth Commission

Youth Commission Divisions Logo 

Youth Commission Logo Large  


The Youth Commission is a body of 17 youth from San Francisco between the ages of 12 and 23. Created by the voters under a 1995 amendment to the City Charter, the commission is responsible for advising the Board of Supervisors and the Mayor on policies and laws related to young people. The Youth Commission is also charged with providing comment and recommendation on all proposed laws that would primarily affect youth before the Board takes final action.  You can read more about the Youth Commission here.


What's New?

  • Youth Commissioners have approved their Budget & Policy Priorities for fiscal years 2018-19 and 2019-20.  They can be viewed here (PDF) and the footage of their presentation to the Board of Supervisors' Budget & Finance Committee here at the 3:31 mark.  Previous Budget & Policy Priorities for fiscal years 2017-18 and 2018-19 can be viewed here (PDF) and Budget & Policy Priorities for FY's 2016-17 & 2017-18 can be viewed here (PDF), and footage of their presentation to the Board of Supervisors' Budget & Finance Committee here

  • View recent business conducted by the full Youth Commission here.

  • Read the most recent update on the 2016 effort to lower the municipal voting age here.

  • On May 3, 2016 the Board of Supervisors held its first-ever joint meeting with the Youth Commission, in order to hear public testimony on the charter amendment which would extend voting rights to 16 and 17 year olds in municipal elections. To view the public comment and footage of the joint here, you can go here.

Next Meetings

Full Commission -- The Youth Commission meets regularly as a full body on the first and third Monday of every month. Meetings are usually held at 5:15pm in room 416 of City Hall. A calendar of all regularly scheduled Youth Commission meetings for the 2017-18 term can be viewed here (PDF)

  • The following full youth commission meetings have been cancelled: July 2nd and July 16th

Commission Committees -- The Youth Commission has standing issue-based committees that meet regularly in the Youth Commission office, room 345 of City Hall. The Youth Commission 2017-18 issue-based committees are: Civic Engagement & Immigration Committee; Housing, Environment and City Services Committee; Justice & Employment Committee.

  • The Civic Engagement and Immigration Committee meetings on July 5th and July 18th have been cancelled. Cancellation notices for July 5th and July 18th have been posted.
  • The Housing, Environment, and City Services Committee meetings on June 25th, July 9, and July 23 have been cancelled. 
  • The Justice and Employment Committee meeting on Monday, July 23rd, at 5:00 PM in room 345 has been cancelled.
  • The Executive Committee meetings on June 27th, July 11th, and July 25th have been cancelled.  

Last Meetings

The minutes from the Full Youth Commission meeting on Monday, June 18th, 2018 have been posted.

View the 2015-16 Annual Priorities Document!

On May 25, 2016, the 2015-16 Youth Commissioners presented their annual priorities to the Board of Supervisors Budget and Finance committee. To view the footage from that hearing, you can look here. To read about the12 annual priorities and the SFYC 2015-16 Budget and Policy Priorities document in its entirety, download it here. (PDF)

What Happened in the Recent Past?

To see what we were focused on last term, check out the Youth Commission's Policy and Budget Priorities from 2015-16 (PDF) as well as the 2015 annual report (PDF). To see current business from the 2014-15 term, visit our tracking YC business page.


Multilingual Services

Powered by Translate