Youth Commission

Youth Commission

Youth Commission Logo 2018 - 2019


The Youth Commission is a body of 17 youth from San Francisco between the ages of 12 and 23. Created by the voters under a 1995 amendment to the City Charter, the commission is responsible for advising the Board of Supervisors and the Mayor on policies and laws related to young people. The Youth Commission is also charged with providing comment and recommendation on all proposed laws that would primarily affect youth before the Board takes final action.  You can read more about the Youth Commission here.


Youth Commissioners
Supervisor Appointed

District 1     Sarah Cheung

District 2     Valentina Alioto-Pier

District 3     Maggie Dong

District 4     Josephine Cureton

District 5     Calvin Quick

District 6     Khatab Alameri

District 7    Crystal Chan

District 8     Jose "Jojo" Ty

District 9    Ariana Arana

District 10   Rome Jones

District 11   Amara Santos

Youth Commissioners
Mayor Appointed

Mayoral     Rocky Versace

Mayoral     Alexander Hirji

Mayoral     Arsema Asfaw

Mayoral     Nora Hylton

Mayoral     Sarah Ginsburg 

Mayoral      Arianna Nassiri


What's New?

  •  Vote16SF is back!  The Youth Commission is excited to announce it will be spearheading another ballot initiative for November 2020 that would expand municipal voting rights to 16 and 17 year olds in SF. We are partnering up with Generation Citizen and PowerCA, two lead agencies mobilizing at the state and national level!  Follow us on social media #vote16SF.

  • Please welcome our new staff, Youth Development Specialist, Itzel Estrada to the team. She started on October 1st. Please drop by and say Hi. She'll be the staff support lead for the Housing and Land Use committee.

  • Youth Commissioners have approved their Budget & Policy Priorities for fiscal years 2019-20 and 2020-21.  They can be viewed here (PDF) and the footage of their presentation to the Board of Supervisors' Budget & Finance Committee here at the 1:58 mark.  

Community Events

Next Meetings

Full Commission

The Youth Commission meets regularly as a full body on the first and third Monday of every month. Meetings are usually held at 5:00 pm in room 416 of City Hall. Please, see our calendar of all regularly scheduled Youth Commission meetings for the 2019-20 term.

  • The next full Youth Commission meeting will take place on Monday, March 2nd 2020 at 5 pm in room 278. An agenda will be posted. 

Commission Committees

The Youth Commission has standing issue-based committees that meet regularly in City Hall. The Youth Commission 2019-20 issue-based committees are as follows:

  • The Executive Committee will not meet on Wednesday, February 26th, 2020 at 5 pm in room 345. A cancellation notice has been posted. 
  • The Housing and Land Use Committee will meet on Thursday, February 27th, 2020, at 5 pm in room 278. An agenda has been posted. 
  • The Transformative Justice Committee will meet on Monday, February 24th, 2020 at 5:00 pm in room 278. An agenda has been posted. 
  • The Civic Engagement Committee will meet on Monday, February 24th, 2020 at 4:30 pm in room 270. An agenda has been posted.

Last Meetings

  • The minutes from the Executive Committee for Wednesday, February 12th, 2020 in room 345 have been posted.
  • The minutes from the Transformative Justice Committee meeting on Monday, February 10th, 2020 have been posted.
  • The minutes from the  Full Youth Commission meeting on Tuesday, February 18th, 2020 have been posted.
  • The minutes from the Civic Engagement Committee meeting on Monday, February 10th, 2020 have been posted.
  • The minutes from the Housing and Land Use Committee meeting on Thursday, February 13th, 2020 have been posted. 

What Happened in the Recent Past?

To see what we were focused on the last term, check out the Youth Commission's Policy and Budget Priorities from 2015-16 (PDF) as well as the 2015 annual report (PDF). To see current business from the 2014-15 term, visit our tracking YC business page.







Multilingual Services

Powered by Translate